Book review… #3

The Boy with the Thorn in his Side by Chantelle Atkins

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show/1600092856

5 stars – I loved it!

41AHGMXme3L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_This book completely absorbed me. I identified straightaway with the main character, Danny, having also grown up in the UK in the 90s, and the music he describes being very much a part of my own teenage years. I wanted so badly for Danny to break free of his torturous situation, living with a such a monstrous step dad, that I raced through the pages and could not put the book down. The characters in this book are its strength; each one crafted so well that you feel like you could reach out and touch them.

The book is very long, and could quite possibly have concluded two thirds of the way in, yet a part of me didn’t want it to end; I was grateful for the journey and fulfilled by the ultimate conclusion. You don’t have to know the music to enjoy this book, although it helps. I would recommend this book to adults wanting to take a trip down memory lane, and young adults with an open mind. Can’t wait to read more from Chantelle Atkins.

Leave a Reply

